Chickens!

Yup, I did it!  Well, my grandfather did.  I had been half joking for a year or so how I wanted chickens.  My grandpa *SURPRISE!!* built me one.  I had no idea it was coming and apparently this condo of a chicken house had been rebuilt several times over several months per my grandmother’s, mother’s, father’s, father’s employees’, second cousin’s input over that time period.

So here is my chicken condo. It’s so cute!

My mother gave me one of her Rhoad Island Red hens because she kept getting beat up.  I also “stole” an extra rooster.  In a crowd of three, roosters get aggressive and were attacking everyone.  So I took one to separate them.  He’s so much more calm with me.  I love him.  He’s so tall and gorgeous.  So sorry I don’t have a better pic right now, but here they are getting ready for me to put them in the coop!

A week or so later, I decided that since my hen was nuts, I needed more.  I found some on craigslist for a buck.  I decided to pick up a matched pair of Old English Spangled chickens, two Black Austrolorps and a leghorn–all bantam or smaller.  The Spangled rooster was hilarious.  I have audio of his crow!!!

This is the part where I tell you that of the six I bought, only one remains.  Don’t ask.

Lookit!

I picked up “chicks” on craigslist! Cheep!

Cheep! Cheep!

Yea, I’ve only gotten one egg.  Cross your fingers for me.  Right now, all these guys are doing is making poop.

Leave a Reply

